'Scarface' Remake On The Way

Published on by SamuelConnor

So we all know by now that Hollywod love to take a perfectly good film and recycle it over and over until they have squeezed every last cent out of the franchise. And then they reboot it.

 

Well getting it's second makeover is Scarface. This Third version of this film is currently with David Ayer who will be writing the new script.

 

The guy best known for films like Training Day and Dark Blue spoke to deadline saying “This is a fantasy for me, I can still remember when I saw the film at 13 and it blew my mind."

“I sought it out; I went after it hard. I see it as the story of the American dream, with a character whose moral compass points in a different direction. That puts it right in my wheelhouse. I studied both the original Ben Hecht-Howard Hawks movie and the De Palma-Pacino version and found some universal themes.”

 

Despite finding the themes he claims he has yet to work out his own particular take on the story  “I’m still under the hood figuring out the wiring that will translate, but both films had a specificity of place, there was unapologetic violence, and a main character who socially scared the shit out of people, but who had his own moral code. Each was faithful to the underworld of its time. There are enough opportunities in the real world today that provide an opportunity to do this right. If it was just an attempt to remake the 1983 film, that would never work.”

 

I say why mess with a perfectly good film? but I suppose De Palma was in the same position in the 80's and look at the job he did. I am dubious about this, but judging by Ayers credentials he may be able to pull it off.

 

And even if the script is great they still need an actor to best Pacino's Toni, something that alot of actors will struggle to do.

 

For the full details head over to Deadline link

 

3776182258_99241f087d.jpg

Published on Film News

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post